Team India’s 19th undefeated Test and sixth successive series win

Team India win the Test Match by 208 runs

Unstoppable Team India under Virat Kholi

Virat Kholi now holds the record of 19 Unbeaten Test, going past the previous record 18 Undefeated Test by Sunil Gavaskar’s. Kapil Dev went 17 Tests without a defeat in 1985-87.

Kholi managed to win 6 Consecutive Test Match Series Win, going past the previous record of 5  Consecutive Test Match Series Win under M.S.D

Now Team India have defeat Team South Africa, England, News Zeland, and Bangladesh at home.

India have a chance to extend this streak when they meet Australia in a couple of weeks.

By winning this test series Team India managed to become fifth team in Test History to win 19 test matches or more than that.

West Indies went 27 Tests without defeat from 1982 to 1984.

Virat Kholi as captain won 15 test matches and joint the second-highest test match winner after 23rd games.

50 Wickets for R Ashwin in the fourth innings of Tests. He is only the third bowler from India, after Bishan Singh Bedi and Anil Kumble, to reach this mark. Among all bowlers with 50-plus wickets in the fourth innings, Ashwin has the best strike rate.

2012 The last time a visiting team batted for more than 100 overs in both innings of a Test in India. England had batted 145.5 overs and 154 overs in Nagpur in 2012.

Catch on Team India’s test match Highlights:

There have been only 24 instances of visiting teams batting for more than 100 overs in both innings in India. Bangladesh batted 127.5 overs in the first and 100.3 overs in the second.

Incidentally their score of 250 is the second-highest score in the fourth innings of a Test by a visiting team in India since 2000.

2005 The last instance of a visiting team losing their sixth wicket after scoring 200 or more in the fourth innings of a Test in India. This was only the sixth such instance for overseas teams in India.

10 Number of innings between Mahmudullah’s last Test fifty and his 64 in Bangladesh’s second innings. He made 67 against South Africa in Chittagong in 2015.

In nine of his last ten innings he has failed to convert his starts and has been dismissed between 10 and 40.

Most consecutive Tests without defeat for an Indian captain:-19 Virat Kohli *

-18 S Gavaskar
-17 Kapil Dev
-14 M Azharuddin
-11 MS Dhoni

Most consecutive Tests without defeat as captain:

-26 C Lloyd (1982-84)
-22 R Ponting (2005-07)
-19 R Illingworth (1969-71)
-19 KOHLI *

India have now won six consecutive Test series starting from Aug 2015 – the most for them in a row. Previous best: Five between Oct 2008 to Jan 2010

Most consecutive Tests without defeat for INDIA at home:

-20 Dec 2012 – present *
-20 Jan 1977 – Jan 1980
-16 Jan 1960 – Feb 1964

Most wickets in a season:

-78 D Steyn (2007/08)
-66 G McGrath (1998/99)
-64 A Kumble (2004/05)
-63 Kapil Dev (1979/80)
-62 Muralitharan (2001/02)/ S Warne (2005/06)
-61 R ASHWIN (2016/17) *

Most balls faced by Bangladesh in a Test:

-1536 v Pak, Khulna, 2015
-1456 v Zim, Khulna, 2014
-1455 v WI, Gros Islet, 2004
-1390 v Zim, Chittagong, 2014
-1378 v NZ, Chittagong, 2008
-1370 v Ind, Hyderabad, 2017 *

Most balls faced by Bangladesh in an away Test:

-1455 v WI, Gros Islet, 2004
-1370 v Ind, Hyderabad, 2017 *
-1325 v Zim, Harare, 2001

Wishing Team India very best of luck against their best rivals Australia when they meet each other on 223rd Feb for four Test Match Series.

Vishal Agrawal
I'm Vishal Agrawal from Mumbai. I work with the 120 Media Collective as an associate in SEO & also handle ORM for Taj Gateway Hotel Brand. My hobbies are to play all kind of sports whenever I get the opportunities to explore it.

Leave a Reply